just 10 minutes..

So I’m feeling all reflective and stuff the past few weeks. Time for a more serious blog post. I don’t really believe in new year’s resolutions but sometimes it feels good to shake things up in your life and work on developing some new habits. I’ve totally had a hard time coming back to real life after our amazing wedding and honeymoon! One change is that I don’t currently have a membership to a yoga studio for the first time in probably 2 or 3ish years? And partially because of limited yoga, I’m just not feeling great. I’ve been walking for 30 minutes at least 6 days a week, usually for longer. That’s been good but I still just feel blah-y a lot of days, some is allergy/sinus related I think. And my ribs keep moving out of place which is painful and frustrating and makes it hard to breathe. Anyway, the adorable new husband is trying to make time in his day to get to the gym regularly so we’re implementing a few new house rules:
* No screens in bed (so far my husband just lays there hah but he’s going to start using the time to crochet cause he’s THE CUTEST MAN IN THE WHOLE WORLD & I’ve been slowly reading For the LoveI’m milking it for what it’s worth because I love it and Jen Hatmaker so much)
* Setting a bed time
* Earlier wake up time : )

It’s a slow but steady process where we’re getting to bed a little earlier each night and waking up in the mornings. I’m still snoozing a bit but I’m trying to do yoga every day in the mornings. The past 2 days I’ve only done a few sun salutations and some stretching. But slow and steady wins the race, right?! I’m going to keep pressing on and try to do yoga every morning and hope that I can turn it into a habit (even if it’s brief practice to start).

There have been some advantages to a home yoga practice that I’m enjoying.
1.) I haven’t wasted gas or time driving to the yoga studio 2.) I can hear myself breathe really well & it’s awesome << I can also hear everything POP. Everything. Every joint, most times that I move. I’m 31 going on 81 >> 3.) I can do exactly what my body is feeling 4.) I am discovering a lot about my body
There are a lot of pros to going to a studio but I’m just making myself feel better & going with the positive (+) here.

Not all that surprisingly, I’m super stiff in the mornings and moving around feels so amazing and gets my blood flowing

I was curious of how long it takes to form a habit. There’s a myth that it takes 21 days. However, this article from Huff Post said the following: “On average, it takes more than two months before a new behavior becomes automatic — 66 days to be exact. And how long it takes a new habit to form can vary widely depending on the behavior, the person, and the circumstances. In Lally’s study, it took anywhere from 18 days to 254 days for people to form a new habit.”

So I need to make it almost to the new year I guess!

full_goodmorningyoga_1600_TEXT-14107

I could use any support here. Does anyone have a favorite yoga flow for mornings or otherwise?
Does anyone have a book recommendation for my bedtime routine? I would prefer something that won’t make me too wound up to sleep.

Also, I find myself feeling guilty for having free time vs. people who have children << thank you everyone lately who has been implying that I have no life because I have no children >> I’ve decided instead of continuing to be bitter, I am going to turn it into something positive and be grateful for the time. And use the time in my day a little bit better and make room for some of these good habits. I also want to “schedule” a night each week where I do a guitar lesson on youtube or with myself. Thank you anonymous readers who don’t like, comment, etc. but keep reading. I love it & maybe you’ll warm up someday (or stop reading but having fun for now). Peace and love.
image

 

 

Leave a Reply

